Back To The Garden?

by Kimberly A. Cook                (Twitter@  WarriorTales)

Last Saturday I ended up in a speed tomato planting race against the incoming rain and thunderstorms. Weather hit a sunny 90 degrees on Friday and then dropped like a rock to 66 degrees with incoming rain the next morning.

Taking my time Saturday I checked the  Doppler radar at 9:38 a.m. and saw a blob of green, yellow and red moving my way. Tossed on my garden clothes and proceeded to weed, remove old potting soil, put in new potting soil, plant three tomato plants, add their cages, plus change the burned out garage light bulbs all before the storm hit. A quick fifty-five minutes flat. I did get misted on and a cool draft down my back.

IMG_4399.JPG

First tomato in, a favorite yellow pear. Planted two each. I use plastic painter buckets with three holes drilled in the bottom sides. They were pink, but they’ve faded in the sun. Yes, that is a purple tomato cage.   

 

IMG_4400.JPG

Normally I use Sweet Cherry 100s, but am trying this yellow cherry tomato hybrid since the Sweet 100s were not in sight in the store. Notice the yellow blooms in back? Yellow tomato cage to coordinate! 

IMG_4401.JPG

The mint is growing by leaps and bounds since I planted it. Love the aroma.

IMG_4404

Farmer Bun is already surrounded by blooms from the Fairy rose and blooms from a plant where I saw a hummingbird drink ing. You can rock it with a container garden.

IMG_4419

Of course Spec Ops Cat wanted to come outside and help me, but since he doesn’t do rain or mist he stayed inside and supervised. Smart cat!

Got a garden? Let’s grow!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Garden

4 responses to “Back To The Garden?

  1. Wow! Those plants look healthy and beautiful.

    Betty C

  2. Janet

    I put in purple tomatoes this year! Can’t wait to see how they taste! My peas are up and my red potato experiment is going to yield a “boatload” of taters! Now if I can just keep my chickens out of the garden, I might get to sample the harvest!

Leave a Reply

